food · health · Me:Dormouse

Healthy Eating

Good morning, dear ones.

I mentioned a few posts ago about how we were going to start eating more healthily, after the last few (few?! There’s still three-and-a-half boxes of chocolates!) Festive Feasting leftovers were gone. But I then thought, well, why not start now? We can still eat the chocolates, little by little, but we might as well start trying to be healthier.

So with that in mind, I have drawn up a plan. From tomorrow, breakfasts will be:

Porridge,honey,raspberries
Oatmeal Supreme
Porridge,honey,raspberries
Oatmeal Supreme
Bircher Meusli
2 toast peanut butter+ apple
Porridge,honey,raspberries

The “Oatmeal supreme” is this recipe:

  1. Pour into a medium-sized nonstick skillet all ingredients except milk and oatmeal. Simmer over medium heat, stirring occasionally, until the mixture begins to caramelize, about 10 minutes.
  2. Meanwhile, cook oatmeal.
  3. Add caramelized fruit mixture and milk to cooked oatmeal, stirring until combined. Serve hot.

Sounds quite yummy. Let’s hope it is!

Lunches are also changing, so that we aren’t eating so much cheese and processed meat. The plans are:

Roast veggies/feta wrap
Soup + mushrooms on toast
Roast veggies/feta wrap
Salmon & slaw salad
Eggs on toast
Chicken/pesto wrap+soup
Chicken pesto wrap+soup

Some of these things are leftovers from the night before’s dinner (Salmon & slaw salad for example) & other things are from recipes on t’internet.

Finally, our dinners are:

Orange & tomato chicken couscous, green beans
Ultimate Moussaka spinach/orange salad
Salmon with hoisin sauce rice/ slaw
Veggified spaghetti green beans salad with garlic
Cumin rubbed chicken tomato salad
Vegetable lasagne green salad + chickpeas
Pasta & prawns cucumber salad

If you’re interested in any of the recipes, you can probably just google the title to find it, but you can also leave me a comment & I’ll let you know the link/recipe

You can see that I’ve planned sides of vegetables/salad too. The reasons are twofold – to help fill us up, but also to get more vegetables into us. My fruit will mostly be eaten at breakfast – a half/half water-juice combo, plus the fruit with the porridge.

We’ve also agreed to no more biscuit buying – if they’re in the house, we’ll eat them. Each weekend I (or Mr FD) will make a healthy cake/ batch of flapjack. Once they’re gone, they’re gone (and we’ll have to eat the three-and-a-half boxes of chocolates instead!!

I am a tad annoyed as I spent yesterday afternoon completing the plan for Week 3 – but forgot to save it! Bummer! Never mind, it will give me something to do in a bit.

No, you didn’t. They’re off the shopping list too!

And here
we have a table
that I put in the wrong place
and now I can’t delete it.
Hey-ho.
What it is to be
a Techno-idiot.

13 thoughts on “Healthy Eating

    1. Actualy, Bev, it wasn’t too much effort at all. I didn’t cook the fruit in concentrate, but in apple juice, and quickly boiled for 5 minutes while I cooked the porridge in the microwave it was ready! First time I used the spices, but the second time I didn’t, and I didn’t miss them. I only used half an apple & half a banana, so I had the same breakfast the next day. I’d recommend it as I like my porridge with syrup, and while this wasn’t as good, it wasn’t bad!

  1. I ❀️ oatmeal. I buy the instant and heat my water in an electric kettle. A little cinnamon, honey, pinch of salt and some chopped pecans and it tastes like an oatmeal cookie!

    1. Thank you, Notewords. So far (two days in!) it’s not too bad – except a friend brought me ANOTHER box of chocolates yesterday! And it would be rude to give them away, wouldn’t it?!

  2. LOL! I love your last table!
    I’m going to say something controversial now.
    I suggest you throw away your boxes of chocolates. Maybe one box at a time. I have done this, and I got a huge buzz from it. Better in the bin than on your bum!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.