Uncategorized

…& on to Miami

Wednesday 13/03 We opted for the “get yourself off the ship” option, which meant we had to be ready to leave by about 7.30 am. An early alarm call saw us in the posh dining room for breakfast, and then wheeling our suitcases off the boat ourselves. While this was an option that a few people took, I certainly think it was easier than trying to find our luggage with everyone else, and competing for taxis, buses, Ubers etc. Mr FD booked an Uber that arrived quickly, and took us to the AirB&B, in North Beach, Miami.

The owner had said we could leave our bags there, but check-in wasn’t until 15.00; however, she sent a text saying the place had been cleaned and we could check in immediately. So by 8.30 we were installed in a pleasant apartment. We unpacked, relaxed with a cup of tea/ coffee, and enjoyed an hour or two’s pause. I may have had a nap!!

We found a bank and a local supermarket & bought breakfast stuff, and pizza & salad for lunch. After this we went for a walk to the beach (5 minutes away) and through a local shady park. By about 16.30 I was very warm, so we went back to the air conditioned apartment to think about dinner options.

No, it’s not at all spicy! (Gasp)

We chose a Peruvian restaurant about 20 minutes walk away, and I enjoyed a meal of calamari, steak & salad, and cheesecake. Mr FD had a very spicy ceviche, then a typically Peruvian dish (that I had had when I ate in a Peruvian restaurant in Weisbaden) He finished with a Tres Leches cake which he said was delicious. We certainly needed the walk back to use some of the calories we had consumed!!

Thursday 14/03 After breakfast, we took the bus to South Beach, about 20 minutes or so. We got off the bus and just wandered up one of the streets, vaguely looking for a place that sold walking poles, as mine had got lost somewhere along the checking onto the cruise ship process. They hadn’t been expensive (about 8€ the pair) so while it was annoying, it wasn’t as though I’d lost anything of great value. But if we were going to be walking a lot, I needed them.

Partly as a result of not having sticks, my deformed big toe (caused by “clawing”, apparently) had become more deformed and painful, and was causing me to limp. So, coming across a Sketcher’s shop, Mr FD suggested I tried some sandals which avoided my big toe. This was an excellent idea, and about 30 minutes later we walked out with a pair of sandals for me, a pair of trainers for him and a new water bottle!

On the recommendation of a shop assistant in a shop that didn’t sell walking poles, we found a shop that did, and I bought a good pair for only 12$ (currently on sale on e-bay at more than double the price!) – a bargain! We had lunch in a Spanish restaurant, sharing a platter of meat and cheese, and a paella.

South Beach, Miami

After a shortish walk, during which I found the sandals rubbed & I needed plasters (!) we decided to hire bikes to see around. There were plenty of Citi-bike stations around, and in fact we ended up cycling the 7/8 km back to the apartment. It was all along the “promenade”, and was fun, but I was glad to see 79th Street on the signs! As you can see, I was more-than-a-little-pink at the end!!

Because we’d eaten well at lunchtime, we decided to just have a take-out sandwich from the local “Sandwicherie” for our evening meal. It was huge (I couldn’t finish my turkey, avocado, cream cheese sandwich) so we definitely made the right decision. Mr FD logged into his Amazon account and we watched an episode of “House”. We may have both dozed off!!

4 thoughts on “…& on to Miami

  1. Sounds like you had a nice apartment to stay in with a nice owner. Poor you and your sore feet. Sketchers are very comfortable, we buy shoes and slippers from them. A bike ride was a good idea to burn off some calories and give you a good night’s sleep.

    1. Mr FD is definitely converted to Sketchers. I really should have something with more heel support than sandals, but they really helped with my weird feet. I’m wearing the sandals with thick socks around the house at the moment, to soften them for the summer.

  2. I’m sorry about your feet. If there is a runner’s store in France, particularly one that will check your gait, go there and get fitted for running shoes (even though you’re just walking around in them). And get good socks, too (I’m keen on Balega). They are spendy but make a HUGE difference. Here I would suggest a Fleet Feet shop, but I’m sure there is something similar in France. A place were serious runners go to get fitted, not a brand shop or general place. You want a place that is going to get you the right shoe for your body mechanics. In any event, I hope you were able to find some “blister bandaids.” They’ve saved my life more than once. 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.