Uncategorized

CTTE 4 (Tuesday)

Today saw us back at sea for the last full day of music and conversation. We woke a bit later and went to the posh dining room for breakfast. Mr FD wanted to go to the Steve Hackett Q&A session, so we met at the Pool area to watch Jordan Rudess playing at 11.30. During Jordan Rudess I found my back was painful, so I just wandered around the deck, listening but also wandering. That made my back feel better. I quite enjoyed his music, until he started going a bit too techno for my tastes, so we repaired to the neighbourhood bar for our lunch. We both had a chicken Caesar salad, which was very nice, and then moved down to the area where BBT were having their Q&A session – we wanted a good seat!

BIG BIG TRAIN: (L-R) Gregory, Rikard, Clare, Alberto, Nick, Oskar

Mr FD went off and brought back coffee and cake for me, and we chatted to a couple of women from Manchester, who said that they hadn’t known of BBT before the cruise, but were now big fans. Then BBT arrived. They talked for a while & then I got to ask the first audience question; I asked each of them to tell me their favourite song to perform, and the song that really meant something to them. It was interesting to hear what they had to say, often choosing a song that was challenging as their favourite to play!

After the Q&A session, we went to our ticketed Riverside performance. It was OK, but not that inspiring for me. In fact, it was the second time I dozed off in a prog rock concert!! After this we went back to the cabin to pack as we were getting off the following day at about 8.00 or so. We listened to a musician in the lounge bar, and then went to the posh restaurant for our evening meal.

Sunset during Adrian Belew’s set

We listened to Adrian Belew playing on the Pool Stage for a while, which I enjoyed, and then our final ticketed concert was Flying Colors – about halfway through Mr FD indicated that he was leaving because he wasn’t enjoying it. I nearly left too as the music had been a bit too loud and “rock”-y for my tastes.

However, I didn’t want to leave my last concert on a bum note so I stayed. And in fact, they then played some much more melodic songs, which I enjoyed. I’m not sure I would seek them out to listen to again, but at least I enjoyed half their concert!! Mr FD came across some piano music he enjoyed, so we were both reasonably content. Although we considered going to Late Night Live, we decided that a (relatively) early night was a good idea, considering we needed to be up early the next day.

TIMETABLE: 11.30-12.30 Jordan Rudess ~ 12.45-13.45 waiting for BBT ~13.45-14.15 BBT Q&A ~ 14.45 – 15.45 Riverside (meh) ~19.30-20.30 Adrian Belew ~ 21.30 – 22.30 Flying Colors ( = 5 concerts. 16 in total)

4 thoughts on “CTTE 4 (Tuesday)

  1. The question and answer session sounds good and great that you got to ask the first question. Sounds like you’ve had a very good time on the cruise.

  2. Alrighty then, a name I recognize: Adrian Belew – but only because he toured with David Bowie on the Sound + Vision tour in 1990 (huge David Bowie fan, here). :-)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.