Uncategorized

Quoi de neuf?

What’s new? Not much!! I haven’t written a post since last Thursday, so I felt I should up date you – but I’m not sure on what!!

Mr FD has been a star recently – he’s been organising everything (and I mean everything!) for the holiday. The hotels, the car parking, the flights, the checking in for the cruise, the excursions, the AirB&B, the documents we’ll need, the money. I’ve done practically nothing except buy some new T-shirts & a swimming costume! Though, to be fair, he isn’t working, and I’ve taken on 4 more students this year, so I’m working more. All the same, I still have spent time just doing fun things, like crafting, or reading.

On the cruise there isn’t much access to wi-fi, without paying exorbitant costs, so I won’t be updating you along the way. And when we’re in Miami we’ll be too busy doing Stuff, so I’ll tell you all about it when we get back. The cruise itinerary has changed: we were due to go to Jamaica & Grand Cayman, but because of various warnings (safety & weather) we are now going to Cozumel, which is an island off the coast of Mexico. We’re there for two days, which is a bit disappointing, rather than going to different places, but as Mr FD & I have never been anywhere that side of the Atlantic, except Canada, we’re not too bothered. Other people, who have been to Cozumel several times, have been quite vocal in their annoyance.

We are slightly more disappointed that our favourite band is not playing a ticketed show, so there’s a chance we may only get to hear them once (and not at all if that concert, which is outdoors, is cancelled because of bad weather!) if we don’t get a seat at their inside concert. Oh well, we’ll just have to start queuing very early!!

I’ve listened to most of the bands that are playing and ranked them in order of preference to see them. Some are ticketed, so we’ll definitely see them; others are playing in various spaces around the ship. There are Q&A sessions, photo opportunities, and various other things going on too.

I’ve highlighted the bands I want to see on the schedule (bearing in mind it’s likely to change) and there is plenty of time left for me to just enjoy the “cruise experience”, to relax, maybe have a spa treatment, loll in the pool, or join the “Lonely Hearts” group – those partners of real Prog-Rock diehards who have just come for the cruise, not the music! Mr FD will probably be watching more shows than me.

Our plans for excursions include a trip on a see-through boat with optional scuba diving, from Cozumel, and a tour down to Key West when we’re in Miami. There’s also an eco-park in Cozumel which sounds interesting too, so we may try to visit that. Mr FD is keen to hire bikes too which I’m up for (as long as mine is electric!) to explore parts of the coast. There’s also a Little Cuba walking tour which sounds interesting.

We just need to make sure we don’t eat too much of the free food!!

There you are! I’ve found something to write about after all! That’s good.

5 thoughts on “Quoi de neuf?

  1. I hope you have a lovely cruise and you get to hear your favorite band. You’ll have to tell us all about it after you return. :)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.