Uncategorized

Am I mad?

I think so.

1 Walk 1000 Miles 2021 Posters Portrait7 11.50.19.jpg

I know that two years ago I was going to try to do 600 km before my 60th birthday – and managed less than 100 – so this is going to be a tough one.

But I’ve signed up, joined a FB group AND have started a FB group too, for Ladies in France who are trying the challenge..so as admin I think I might have to commit to trying hard! It was my brother’s girlfriend, Michelle, who has encouraged me to join – last year she posted lots of jolly photos of her and Mike having jolly times (even when it was pissing down with rain) walking so I thought “Maybe I should try it.”

Screen Shot 2020-12-03 at 15.10.05.png
I am Fat Dormouse – I’m from Saint Just en Chevalet – I will walk 1000 miles in 2021.

So far I’ve done 3 miles (rounded up!) and 2.6 miles. So that’s 5.6. Only 994.4 to go!! Well, at least it’s down to triple figures(and a few decimal places) I’m counting “purposeful walking” – so when I think “I’m going for a walk” or when I’m using the Walk a Mile in 15 minutes videos. Mr FD says this shouldn’t count because it’s not “proper walking” and doesn’t use the same muscles (? Go figure) but I say “Yah boo sucks” to him. This is my challenge and my rules. The only time I’m going to count other steps is on Fridays – I’m at school then, and walk about 2.5 miles (according to my pedometer) just pacing around the classroom, and going from room to room. I’m definitely knackered by the end of the day so I’m counting it!!

I won’t be posting about every walk – don’t worry! – but at the end of each month I’ll probably let you know how it’s going…I’ve got to try to stay accountable. I know Mr FD will probably nag (or just look disappointed and “I told you so”-ish) if I start flagging, which will spur me on to show him he was WRONG!

Image may contain: 1 person, standing, outdoor and nature
Setting off for my first walk
Image may contain: house and outdoor
On yesterday’s walk
Image may contain: tree, mountain, sky, outdoor, nature and water

It may be harder than in the past couple of day’s to fit a walk in, as I’ll be back working, but I’ve scheduled an hour in my diary, just like for a lesson, so hopefully I won’t just say “But I don’t have time…” Mind you, today’s looking very driech (and I’m feeling a bit stiff) so I’m not sure I’ll be having a jolly time of it!

So there you go.

2021 badge

9 thoughts on “Am I mad?

  1. I’m cheering you on from here – and may I say what a charming village you have to walk through! My goal is to hit my 12,000-step goal EVERY day, not just by averaging high and low days. Last night I got on the treadmill to do that, and my hips are sore this morning. We’ll get fitter, right? (Aleve on board in the meantime.)

  2. Great idea! I clicked to join the group and treated myself to the calendar too. I’ve just been working on increasing and being more consistent with my steps. Using the app on my phone to keep track of things. So if I forget my phone or just do something without it those steps are not recorded and don’t count toward the totals. Cheering you on from San Diego.

  3. Oh well done – that is impressive! How many miles is that a month? I’ll have that as my falling asleep thought tonight! God go with you every step along the way! Camino next??!

    1. It’s 83 miles a month – no way I’ll do that!! Of course, as I get fitter and the weather improves I might do longer walks. And if I don’t manage the full 1000 I’m not going to worry. I’m doing more than I might otherwise do.

  4. I do think this is very impressive that you are aiming for this! I read this on my phone on the train but the signal is notoriously rubbish so I failed to comment!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.