Act N° 21 (2017) & 22: Refuge & Origins

Hello dear Readers, I hope you are all well. I am thankful for emergency doctor’s appointments today – yesterday I could hardly walk because of the pain from the eczema on my feet, and when I went to the pharmacy the woman there was shocked by the state of my feet, and  told me to get to a doctor as soon as possible. So I did. And he prescribed various potions. He thinks that it is an allergy to synthetic socks, and/or something in the curing process of my leather boots, which I have been wearing fairly consistently through the winter. I am tending to agree with him, as I had already started to wonder if there was a correlation. So I think I’ll be giving all my synthetic socks to my friends son, whose feet are the same size as mine, wearing my boots less often (I’m not stopping! I like them too much!) and possibly buying a pair of expensive leather shoes, assuming that they will be better! It is possible to get a reduction on specific shoes if you have a prescription from your doctor – while they are not particularly attractive shoes, it might be worth considering.

ANYWAY – you haven’t come here to hear about my foot woes, have you?!

So where are we with 40 Acts?

Well, recently the challenges have become a tad more “cerebral” and less “active” – which doesn’t really suit me. I don’t “do” thinking! I admitted my reluctance to pray, which is something I really need to address, I think, but I’m not sure how. Or when.

But this next one, N° 21, REFUGE is an “active” challenge, but, for all that, is another one which makes me shift a little uncomfortably in my seat. I fear God might be preparing me for something that I’m not necessarily that willing to do.

The prompt reads: It’s not exaggerating to say the world today is a divided, polarised place. Attitudes to the ‘other’ and, frankly, anything outside of our own culture, have shifted positions of fear into the mainstream. Now is the time to counter fear with generosity and ask the question – who is our neighbour?

Sometimes the most generous thing we can do is educate ourselves on the issues. Take time today to look into which newspapers spread fear about refugees, then write to the companies who advertise in them (major supermarkets are a good place to start), asking them to remove their funding from the papers. You could also do your own research into migrant groups in your area.

Make a practical difference today for those seeking refuge. Men, this is your time for a clear-out (groups supporting refugees often report low numbers of good quality men’s clothes). Or regularly donate tinned and dried food to those helping destitute asylum seekers or check out Welcome Boxes, a group who make arriving in a foreign land a little bit easier for refugees.

Can you play a bigger role in reaching out and caring for asylum seekers and refugees who are far away from home? You might be just the person to set up a new Welcome Box project in your town, or offer help to Home for Good’s work with refugee children, or support one of the many excellent The No Accommodation Network (NACCOM) member projects providing hosting and homes for asylum seekers left destitute and with no recourse to public funding in the UK (www.naccom.org.uk).

You can read the full  meditation over here

(Sorry if you’re getting fed up of Lol Cats!)

So what am I doing about this Challenge?

First, I’m going to get more involved in the Stop Funding Hate campaign. I tend to scroll past their FB posts – no more.

Secondly – and here’s the stumbling block – I have recently found out that there is a Welcome Centre for Unaccompanied Refugee Minors in Roanne – catering for young people displaced whren the refugee camp in Calais was dismantled. It isn’t exactly “local” to us, being some 20 miles away, but it’s there. And I now know about it. I still haven’t found out exactly where it is, but being aware of its existence means that someone is starting to prod me ever-so slightly…What are you going to do about it, Fat Dormouse? How are you going to get involved?

And I am looking sideways and trying to escape the prods…

****

But now I can breathe a sigh of relief about the next Challenge… Or can I?

Surprisingly, Mother’s Day started off as something completely unrelated to mums. If you trace it back, Mothering Sunday was originally the one day in the year when house servants were allowed to return home to their ‘mother’ church, and spend time with their own community. So on Mother’s Day this year, let’s take time to be generous to people we’ve overlooked in our community.

Let’s acknowledge the mothers in our lives, but why not push the boat out more than usual this weekend? No more garage forecourt flowers or hastily scribbled cards. But, let’s also be more mindful of those near us who might be overlooked today. Those who’ll find this weekend hard for a variety of reasons.

Working this weekend, leading a team, or know tired people serving at church? Could you step in and cover them so they can go home early to spend time with their families?

Plan a lunch for tomorrow for more than just your own family. Invite your church family. Make a plan with others, so that everyone you know (especially those on the margins) is looked after today – whatever their family circumstances.

And, as usual, the full meditation is over here

I’m not a mum – by choice, I may add. For me, there’s no sadness attached to Mother’s Day, and I don’t yearn to have had children. I am God mother to three wonderful God children, and also know and love my nephews, nieces and children-of-friends.  But I pray for those who have lost children, who long to be parents but haven’t had the opportunity, for those who have suffered at the hands of their children.

My mum is still alive, and at 87 is living her life to the full; my mother-in-law is 78 and is living her life to the full. But I pray for those who have lost their mothers, to death, or to dementia. Those whose mothers are lost to them in other ways. Those whose mothers could not love them. Those who have never known their mother.

Both mum and MiL are lucky – as we live in France, and La Fete des Meres is on another day, we usually send our mums something for the French day. So they get two Mothers’ Days to celebrate on. In fact, as MiL has a daughter in Canada, she gets to celebrate three Mothers’ Days!

I’m not sure what else I can do – I’m certainly not up to organising meals, and don’t know who I could let go home early, but I’ll see if I can think of any other ways to support people I know, whether they are mothers or not. And of course, I’ll give my mum a ring tomorrow, to hear all about her trip to Berlin & Riga.

Mums, hey?!

This entry was posted in 40Acts, friends'n'family, God, Just a Thought, Me:Dormouse and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

