Pause in Lent N°2: Lenten Poem

I am taking part in “Pause for Lent” with Angela, over at Tracing Rainbows  and some other bloggers too. If you go to Ang’s blog, you will find a link to the other blogs taking part.

This year I am posting some poetry that I find, relatingto Lent, to our faith walk, to our lives as Christians. Last week it was Robert Herrick’s “To Keep A True Lent”; this week I bring a more modern poem by Ann Weems

“Lent,” she writes, “is a time to let the power of our faith story take hold of us”. Isn’t that a wonderful line? It is something that I am afraid I don’t do – Perhaps I am fearful of what God will ask me to do, but if I let go of my fear and let the power of my faith story take hold then God can do wonders through us…My faith story – not yours, not anyone else’s but my faith story: acknowledging what God has already done in me, but also welcoming what he is to do. Recognising where I have held back, but also what wonders have taken place when I have just flung myself into God’s arms like a small child trusting in the strength of her father.

Lenten Poem by Ann Weems

Lent is a time to take time to let the power
of our faith story take hold of us,
a time to let the events get up
and walk around in us,
a time to intensify our living unto Christ,
a time to hover over the thoughts of our hearts,
a time to place our feet in the streets of
Jerusalem or to walk along the sea and
listen to his Word,
a time to touch his robe
and feel the healing surge through us,
a time to ponder and a time to wonder….
Lent is a time to allow
a fresh new taste of God!
Perhaps we’re afraid to have time to think,
for thoughts come unbidden.
Perhaps we’re afraid to face our future
knowing our past.
Give us courage, O God,
to hear your Word
and to read our living into it.
Give us the trust to know we’re forgiven
and give us the faith
to take up our lives and walk.

This entry was posted in God, Pause in Lent/Advent and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

