A Kind-of Giveaway for Lent

Goodness me – two posts in one day! I could have put this over on Fat Dormouse – & I will probably link from there to here – but I felt this sat better on this blog than on that. Although there isn’t really that much differentiation between them, if I’m honest.

I am looking forward to Lent 2017 (only 19 more sleeps to go!) because that’s when 40 Acts starts. I have taken part in this for three years now, and I really enjoy it. Do Lent Generously is the tag-line, and I encourage you to go over & explore the site, and hopefully sign up.

But I’m also going to do something else, this Lent. A few years ago a friend gave me a box of beautiful postcards from the Bath Abbey Diptychs by Sue Symons

The BBC site says:

Sue was inspired by Bach’s St Matthew Passion to create the artwork which depicts the life of Christ in 70 images grouped together in pairs or ‘diptychs’. She embarked on the panels in 2005 as a retirement project which combines her two artistic passions: textiles and lettering.

Each of the 35 diptychs includes a text from the Gospels in beautifully decorated calligraphy, alongside a panel of needlework that offers a personal interpretation of each step in the story.“The sheer beauty and invention of the diptychs is stunning”, said Alan Garrow, Vicar Theologian at the abbey.

Panel from One Man's Journey to Heaven

“It represents an inspired marriage of the ancient skills of calligraphy and illumination with all the freshness of a contemporary interpretation of the life of Christ.”

I have kept these  postcards safe, looking at them from time to time, but really, postcards are meant to be sent, seen and enjoyed.

So this Lent, I’ll be sending these to friends I’ve lost touch with, family members and others. If you would like to receive one then please leave a message in the comments box. If you can give me some way to contact you privately (email address or whatever) then I will get in touch, so I can have your postal address.  I’ve already sent one (though the person doesn’t know it’s on the way!) but if you’d like one then please let me know. They are beautiful.

This is N° 1 already on its way to someone.

Here’s another…

This entry was posted in 40Acts, Giveaway and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to A Kind-of Giveaway for Lent

  1. Ariel says:

    I saw those in Bath – they were stunning.

  2. Kezzie says:

    Don’t worry about sending me one because I have received many beautiful items from you but this is a wonderful idea!!!

    • fatdormouse says:

      Sorry I’m so late replying! I’m happy to send you one, Kezzie. I’ve got 35 of them!! I don’t know your new address though, so please can you send me an email with it on?

  3. Carole Anderson says:

    I would love to receive one of your lovely cards. Carole.

  4. Dormouse, thank you so much for my postcard, received today. It’s so beautiful, and the words on the back are just what I need to hear. I had my grandchildren with me today and Niamh pored over your lovely calligraphy.

    • fatdormouse says:

      I’m glad you liked it. I’m sorry the “Prioritaire” sticker got slapped where it did – the man in the PO put it on before I could say anything! The words were chosen at random, so isn’t it odd how God sometimes sends things like that. I hope that my “Ninja notes” that I leave around the area work in the same way – somehow God directs it so the right words reach the people who need to hear them.

  5. Helen says:

    Hi, how do I sign up for notifications on your posts? thanks

  6. Pingback: Acts N° 25 & 26 (2017): Stuff & Grateful | View from the Teapot

Leave a Reply

