Techno Idiot

I do quite a lot of phone lessons – I phone the student (or vice versa), we chat a bit about the last week, we look at a text, discuss some grammar, and finish the call. I send them an email with details of what we talked about and something to read for next lesson. Job done.

However, I am taking over a student, who is used to using WebEx for his lessons. I tried to suggest that he used the phone (“I’m having some trouble setting up WebEx”) but he wasn’t having any of that!

I looked at WebEx. It looks complicated. I hid in the corner whimpering.

Then I got all grumpy and Mr FD calmly asked if it was something he could help with.

“Mmmph-y snotty mphfh WebEx poff technology mmmph not fair” I replied.

So patiently, Mr FD  set me up on WebEx  (well, he talked me through it) and then joined himself. Then we  had a “meeting” which was slightly bizarre as he was up in his study, and I could hear him speaking in Real Life before I heard him over the headphones! This was useful to help me find out about some of the features. (I do have to admit that it looks as though it might be kinda useful too. But it’s new and complicated!)

I will have to practise and play about to find out more…but I didn’t want to do that this weekend. I wanted to play with sequins and make cards to sell when I go to Convention in Munich. And watch Strictly Come Dancing on Catch-Up. Grumpy face.

Still, maybe by the time Monday morning and our first WebEx lesson comes round I will be the Techno Whizz-Kid.

cat_9edca0_60666

Or maybe not…

This entry was posted in computers, Work life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Techno Idiot

  1. Pom Pom says:

    Way to go, Mouse! You’re an excellent teacher, I bet!
    Funny kitties!

  2. notewords says:

    You’ll figure it out! Just swear a lot and thump things.
    (Hey, it works for me) 😉

  3. Change is hard; glad you have some live-in tech help! 😉

  4. Kezzie says:

    Well done for persevering! I hate mastering new technology (unless it is a teacher inset and then i am the swot who gets it!)x

Leave a Reply

