Q&A

Over on Kezzie’s blog she passed on the
The Sisterhood of the World Awards Tag to anyone with an A in their name!

That’s me (either in Fat Dormouse, or in my RL name) so I thought I would play along.

The questions to answer were quite tricky, but also rather interesting…

1. What is your favourite gemstone?
Actually, having said they were tricky questions, this one is easy! It is the opal.  Some people believe it is an unlucky stone, unless it is your birth stone – the month of October. I was born on 24th October, so it’s not unlucky for me! It has been in 2 of my three engagement rings (all to the same man. I’ll tell you that story another time!) and if I was choosing jewellery with a stone – which rarely happens! – I would choose opals. Or amber.
2. If you had to spend the day as any historical figure, who would it be and why?
That is a much harder question! Maybe I’d choose Mary Magdalene, or Mary, the sister of Martha (It certainly wouldn’t be Martha who was obsessed by housework!) It would be fascinating to meet Jesus, and to have the chance to listen to him talking and explaining. And to see the real human Jesus, instead of seeing him through the spectacdles of time, and deity.
3. Do you have a favourite genre of film, and if so, why?
I do like a nice romantic comedy…I have enjoyed all the Richard Curtis films I have seen. Just because I like the thought of being romanced. Mr FD isn’t romantic; practical, loving, but not really romantic. Just once I’d like to be swept off my feet. But in a humourous way!
4. What was your favourite toy as a child?
I didn’t have one favourite toy, but a collection of “Bears” – Jeremy the Panda, Barrington Bear, Fluffy the bear, Pooh-Bear, Monty & Marty the mice, Angus the dog. Et al. Monty, Marty and Angus were small, so they were allowed to be taken on holiday with us. I remember Aunty Cyn making them dance for me, while singing in a high pitched squeak “Hello, hello, who’s your lady friend?”

(Chorus at about 43 seconds in)

5. What was the last book you read that you’d recommend to everyone?
Again, difficult to say – people like different books. But I really enjoyed “The Last Runaway” by Tracy Chevalier (although it’s not the last book I read that I’d recommend…!) or “The Girl You Left Behind” by Jojo Moyles.
6. What was the best piece of advice you’ve ever been given
Absolutely no idea!
7. Who would be your dream dinner guests and why?
My dad. I’d love to see him again – he died, too young, in 1990 and I can’t remember that much about him now. From time to time I dream about him, but it’s usually only fleeting. TBH, if I could have him back for a dinner, then that’s all the people I’d want.  But maybe I’d have Mum too!!!
8. Do you prefer day or night?
Day.  I’ve never been a night owl.
9. If space travel became a possibility overnight, where would you go?
I’m not sure I’d want to go anywhere really. Maybe the moon, to see Earth from a different perspective, but I’ve never been very adventurous, so I would probably just stay here on earth.
10. And because I’m always interested to know this, if time travel were real, what time would you go to? I’m not really sure – possibly back to Jesus’ time, for the reasons stated above. But when I think about this question, I can’t really imagine a time I’d like to experience. Everything was more dangerous in the past – plague, war, heresy – and women didn’t get a very good deal out of things. And who knows what’s in the futrure – I don’t think I’d like to find out, really! I think I’ll stay where I am, thank you!

So there you go. I won’t tag you, but let me know if you answer the questions…I’d like to read your answers (and probably say “Oh, yes! That’s what I should have said!!”)

This entry was posted in Blogging friends, Me:Dormouse and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Q&A

  1. I enjoyed reading this!

  2. Kezzie says:

    I’m SO glad you answered how you did about space and time travel. I wondered if people would secretly think I was a wuss when reading my answers! But since you answered similarly, I guess I am just being practical! Love your answers!

    • fatdormouse says:

      Not a wuss, Kezzie! I saw that someone else gave a similar answer. I think that this modern age, for all its uncertainty, terrorism and dangers like that, is still safer for the ordinary person-in-the-street than most other periods in history.

  3. bevchen says:

    I love posts like this – so fun to find out how other bloggers think. You have some great answers 🙂

    I’m debating whether to do it. There’s an A in my real-life middle name, but no A in confuzzledom or bevchen.

Leave a Reply

