April in Books

This is going to be a short post, as I only read one-and-a-half books this month.

The half- a-book was “The Last Kingdom” and I reviewed it last month – it started well, but actually I found it quite tedious at the end.

The other was the third book in the Languedoc trilogy by Kate Mosse. I read the first, “Labyrinth”, about 6 or 7 years ago.

I  enjoyed it, as I am quite interested in the Cathars, and that period of history, although I did feel that some of the writing was poor. It was an engaging story, (if a little far fetched – but then time-slip fiction is, by its very nature, far fetched!) and I was looking forward to the second in the series.

I was disappointed by this – less engaging central characters, less interesting period of history, even more far fetched. When the third in the series was published, I didn’t bother with it, as I assumed I would be disappointed again. However, as it was on a cheap Kindle offer from Amazon, I decided to take a risk…

I’m glad I did. Set in the second world war, exploring the story of the Resistance, and an all-women Resistance group, I really enjoyed it. I will say that the “supernatural” time-slip part was a bit ridiculous, and rather “Raiders of the Lost Ark”-ish, but I suppose the author felt she had to continue the theme that had been set up in the previous books.

The Amazon site describes the book thus: Combining the rugged action of “Labyrinth” with the haunting mystery of “Sepulchre”, #1 bestselling author Kate Mosse’s eagerly awaited Citadel is a mesmerizing World War II story of daring and courage, in which a group of determined women fighting for the French Resistance risk their lives to save their homeland . . . and protect astonishing secrets buried in time.

France, 1942. In Carcassonne, a colorful historic village nestled deep in the Pyrenees, a group of courageous women are engaged in a lethal battle. Like their ancestors who fought to protect their land from Northern invaders seven hundred years before, these members of the resistance—codenamed Citadel—fight to liberate their home from the Nazis.

But smuggling refugees over the mountains into neutral territory and sabotaging their German occupiers at every opportunity is only part of their mission. These women must also protect an ancient secret that, if discovered by their ruthless enemies, could change the course of history.

A superb blend of rugged action and haunting mystery, Citadel is a vivid and richly atmospheric story of love, faith, heroism, and danger—and a group of extraordinary women who dare the impossible to survive.

It is 680 pages long, so I’m not surprised it took me most of the month to read! I’m glad it was on my Kindle too. In my opinion, despite the slightly ridiculous showdown, it is the best of the three in the series.

 

This entry was posted in Books and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to April in Books

  1. Ariel says:

    I agree with you about “Sepulchre”. I couldn’t wait to finish it – not a book I’d want to read again and indeed tedious towards the end. I normally enjoy timeslip fiction but thought it didn’t work as well in “Citadel” as in “Labyrinth”. The ending of “Citadel” was great, though, the way the characters just missed each other.

  2. fatdormouse says:

    Have you read “The Winter Ghosts” by Kate Mosse? Opinion seems very divided on this book, but I remember it as haunting and rather intruiging.

  3. bevchen says:

    I read Labyrinth ages ago. I think I remember liking it, but I had no idea it was the first in a series!

  4. fatdormouse says:

    Try reading the others – there’s a few characters that join all three books together, plus a central theme. As you can see, for Aerial and me, the 2nd is the weakest, but I’ve read reviews that raved about it…horses for courses, I suppose!!

Leave a Reply

