Act N°10: Spur On

No negativities here!! This is a Challenge I feel less controversial about!!

Our words have immense capacity for good. When we use them encouragingly, generously, and genuinely, there are few things that have more power. A timely word can change the course of someone’s day, or even someone’s life. Use words wisely.

GREEN: Grab a stack of Post-it notes or sticky labels, and write down some one-line encouragements. Then stick them up around your house, your gym, your work or your town for other people to find.

AMBER: For some people it’s really hard to actually say nice things. Writing nice things is simple, perhaps even texting nice things – but saying nice things? That takes a bit of courage. So today, try to give three verbal encouragements. Make them genuine and appropriate.

RED: Grab some chalk and head for the streets. Find a patch of pavement and get creative: write a public message of encouragement for everyone to see. It’s legal (it washes off in the rain!), and brightens everyone’s day. A great act to do with kids, too!

You can read the meditation here. It starts with the rather lovely words

I actually think that the Amber act is possibly harder than the Red one – although I’m not doing either! I will spend some time building up my collection of “Ninja Notes” – which are encouraging postcards which I leave in shopping trolleys, lifts, public toilets, car windscreens etc. This grew out of last year’s 40 Acts, (or even maybe 2014) and is something I have carried on with through the year. Then when I go for a walk, or I’m out shopping I will look for opportunities to put these Ninja Notes (secret and stealthy) in places. I trust that God will lead the right person to find them – as I’m writing them I sometimes imagine who might find them… The ones I like best are those that say:

I leave these tucked into baby change tables, imagining that a harassed young mother, or father, will find this just as they reacdh the end of their tether!

So, while I’m not exactly posting post-its, I am using words to encourage people. Some are religious, some are not, but all are meant to support, encourage and empower people.

I also posted this on my Facebook page

for all my wonderful friends who support me and help me to be flawesome!

This entry was posted in 40Acts, Do Something, God and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Act N°10: Spur On

  1. Magsmcc says:

    Oh Dormouse, bless you for the baby change thought. Would that I had found one on One Of Those Days! That is an excellent example x

  2. Michelle says:

    I’m not a natural “cheerleader,” more of a responsible worker bee (and rather expect everyone else to be), so this is a good reminder for me.

Leave a Reply

