Act N°8: Dirty Cash…

Today’s prompt reads:

‘Money is the root of all evil’ – isn’t it? Actually, no. It’s in the love of money that evil finds a root. If financial giving has become a taboo subject for you, face it head on today. Give financially. Whether you’ve got pennies or millions, there is great joy and freedom in thoughtful and intentional giving. You might be a regular giver or never have given before: use today as a way to explore your capacity for financial generosity.

GREEN:If times are hard at the moment, spend today in thought. Challenge yourself to look honestly at your giving attitudes: do you view it as ‘your money’, or God’s? How much would you like to be able to give, if you could? What causes would you give to? Pray about those things. If you find that you have a little loose change that accumulates each day, why not start a Giving Jar? When it’s full, you can choose who to give it to.

AMBER:If you don’t give regularly, why not start by setting up one regular gift to your church or a cause that’s on your heart? Review your budget or start one and check what proportion of your outgoings is devoted to giving. Make this a first step on a generous journey and commit to reviewing this on a regular basis.

RED:Grab your Bible, get out your budget, and make a list of your assets and annual giving. Pray, and allow God to guide your giving as the first financial decision. If you don’t already have one, look into setting up a giving account. You can use it to support one charity/church/Christian worker or as many as you like. If you’re already a giving account aficionado, why not make today the day that you increase a regular gift or set up a new recipient?

This challenge is more of a challenge! Neither Mr FD nor I have what could be termed a regular income – from one month to the next the amount of teaching that I have can vary. Mr FD doesn’t have a fixed job either at the moment. This time last year he had a regular income and we were just considering setting up a Lend with care account, when he lost his job.

I have recently committed to a regular giving at church, as knowing what has been pledged does help our treasurer to make financial decisions, but apart from that I can find many excuses for doing nothing else!! My other giving is much more random.

However, I am well aware that, irregular income or not, we are still in the richest 10% of people in the world. While checking that statistic out I found this (according to which I’m in the top 5% of the world’s wealthy):

  • Got $2200? In this world, you’re rich. Assets (not cash) of $2200 per adult place a person in the top 50% of the world’s wealthiest.*
  • If you made $1500 last year, you’re in the top 20% of the world’s income earners.**
  • If you have sufficient food, decent clothes, live in a house or apartment, and have a reasonably reliable means of transportation, you are among the top 15% of the world’s wealthy. **
  • Have $61,000 in assets? You’re among the richest 10% of the adults in the world.*
  • If you earn $25,000 or more annually, you are in the top 10% of the world’s income-earners.***
  • If you have any money saved, a hobby that requires some equipment or supplies, a variety of clothes in your closet, two cars (in any condition), and live in your own home, you are in the top 5% of the world’s wealthy. **
  • If you earn more than $50,000 annually, you are in the top 1% of the world’s income earners.***
  • If you have more than $500,000 in assets, you’re part of the richest 1% of the world.*

*Source– MSN Money

**Money Possessions & Eternity by Randy Alcorn, pg 291

***The Hole in our Gospel by Richard Stearns, President of World Vision, pg 216

Even if these statistics aren’t exactly correct, it is still enough to certainly make one think, and reconsider what we have in reality, compared with so many people.

Sitting on my desk is my NASA Space Pig, which was a gift from a Ship of Fools Secret Santa a while back.

Last year, between Christmas and May I popped in any 2€ coins that I got, plus the odd note as well, and saved enough to treat Mr FD and I to a lovely meal and night away for our 30th Wedding Anniversary. Between September and Christmas I saved enough for lots of lovely food at Christmas. So between Christmas and…whenever I open it, let’s see what I can save up. And then I can really start a Lend with Care account.

So I need to think…

This entry was posted in 40Acts, Do Something, God, Me:Dormouse and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Act N°8: Dirty Cash…

  1. Randy Alcorn’s book, Money, Possessions and Eternity is hard to read (because it is quite convicting), but it is soooooooooo good. My husband and I read through it together one chapter a week. I highly recommend reading it to anyone interested in furthering their obedience to the Lord and awakening their heart and mind to all God has to say about money. It’s really amazing. We ended up downsizing into a smaller home, which might sound hard, but if it sounds hard, I’ll tell you it’s just a lie of the devil. In the end, after we did it, the market changed, and we were able to purchase a home for $50,000. Our previous home was $500,000 when we bought, $480,000 if we had obeyed immediately, $350,000 when we actually did sell it, and then dropped to a low of $250,000. With homes being so expensive. I didn’t think we’d ever own a home again.

    One thing I’ve learned and seen is that the blessing follows the obedience. We don’t know what the blessing will be, but any blessing from God is awesome! So I just have to ask God to help me with my faith and unbelief and grit my teeth and obey. Our downsizing was an eye-opening experience in so many ways. And when it was over, my husband and I would sit in the living room and sing that Third Day song—feels like I’m born again. It was one of the most amazing times in our lives, and the freedom we felt was tremendous. Still do to this day. Neither of us would ever go back to being in debt to own a big home.

    I would recommend praying before reading each chapter and asking the Holy Spirit to open your eyes to what you haven’t seen yet. Ask him not to let the god of this world keep you blinded. He’s faithful to answer, and it’s always His kindness that leads us to repentance, so it’s never a beat-you-up session. And when you get that conviction, obey immediately. Because we hesitated, we lost another $100,000 when we sold the house. But, if we had waited yet another year, we would have lost even more (another $100,000) and wouldn’t have had the money to buy the home we’re in.

    I pray you are blessed immensely as you see new truths in God’s Word as we did when we read it for the first time. That is exactly what God’s Word is designed to do–to bless us. And the enemy will work overtime to get you to listen to his lies. Just take those thoughts captive to Jesus, grit your teeth and obey, and watch what happens. And keep obeying. The more you do, the more exciting and easy the process becomes. Blessings to you all. Jesus loves us and wants to set us free in every way. Where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom. Watch what He will do for you when you take steps of faith to obey Him. It’s gloriously fun.

  2. fatdormouse says:

    Thank you for taking the time to comment. I certainly agree that God wants to set us free from the chains of whatever holds us back from following him more closely, and it is only through obedience that we really know his blessings. Thankfully though he is quick to forgive for the times when we fail to be obedient! I’m glad to hear that you and your husband have found contentment and continue to praise God . How wonderful for you.

    • You make a good point (even if you weren’t intending to!) Not everyone struggles with money as an idol. But we certainly did. So it was very freeing for us. The community we live in, the church we go to, our friends and family–pretty much everyone we know–struggles with this issue. But not all do for sure! I am for sure thankful for his forgiveness as you noted. And I love the end of I john 1:9–He is faithful to forgive, AND to cleanse us from all unrighteousness. He changes the way we think, restoring our soul. I was dealing with another issue several years ago. I was quick to judge. I John 1:9 comforted me, because I felt I would never win the war over my thoughts that happened before I could even think about them. But sure enough, he is faithful to not only forgive us, but also to cleanse us. I needed to understand that truth. And He has set me free from judgmental thinking now–probably 5 years ago. He’s a good, good Father 🙂

  3. Pingback: After the Acts | View from the Teapot

Leave a Reply

