January in books

I decided to record all the books I read this year – if only because I all too often forget what I’ve read!

So, in January I read the following…all in book form. I have a Kindle which I like, but my friend and I came across a rich vein of English books in Noz, all at 99 cents or 1,50€ I bought several, as did Alison, and we’ve been swapping them. So:

  1. The Drop, by Michael ConnellyMy comments read: OK. Bog standard “blokey” crime fiction It took quite a while to read, which indicates that I wasn’t gripped by it!

2. Before I Go to Sleep, by S.J.Watson

This is the book of the film – which I saw in Lyon a couple of years ago, in a tiny cinema which had been constructed in the cellar of a building. The walls were still in the original stone and it was quite a bizarre experience! Even knowing “who did it” (although that isn’t quite the premise of the book) this wasn’t spoiled as a read. My comments were: Good. Different type of crime story. Enjoyable.

I’d recommend this as a fairly gripping story. I suspect that had I not known the story, I would have been quicker to read it, as I’d have wanted to read more…Rather like the third book this month, which was…

3. I Let You Go by Clare Mackintosh

I’m not actually sure where I got this from – I suspect Alison lent it to me – but I’m very glad she did! I only started this last weekend, and so galloped through it (for me. I generally only read now in bed, but I actually picked this up during the day too.) As I wrote in my notebook Good. Enjoyable with an interesting, well-crafted “twist”.

I won’t say much more about it, but I thought it excellent. Out of this month’s three books, I think I would recommend this one most of all, if you like a “thriller” type book. The “blurb” about it reads:

A tragic accident. It all happened so quickly. She couldn’t have prevented it. Could she?

In a split second, Jenna Gray’s world is shattered. Her only hope of moving on is to walk away from everything she knows to start afresh. Desperate to escape her past, Jenna moves to a remote cottage on the Welsh coast, but she is haunted by her fears, her grief and her memories of the cruel November night that changed her life for ever.

DI Ray Stevens is tasked with seeking justice for a mother who is living every parent’s worst nightmare. Determined to get to the bottom of the case, it begins to consume him as he puts both his professional and personal life on the line.

As Ray and his team seek to uncover the truth, Jenna, slowly, begins to glimpse the potential for happiness in her future. But her past is about to catch up with her, and the consequences will be devastating.

This entry was posted in Books, Reading and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to January in books

  1. Angel Jem says:

    I’d agree with you about “I Let You Go”. I read it last year and it was a very gripping read, with a great twist that I didn’t see coming, and I’m usually good at plot twists.

  2. Pom Pom says:

    Hi Mouse! It’s a good idea to record your books. I can’t keep track of mine. I’m reshuffling and restacking constantly. Happy reading!

  3. Ariel says:

    This sounds like a good idea. I’ll be interested to see what comes up on your list!

Leave a Reply

