Play Your Cards Right!

We have two lovely neighbours who live across the square from us, called Monique and Michel. I don’t think I have ever met anyone as generous and giving as they are. Last Monday we went across for a drink and a “Happy New Year” – there had been a mix-up (not sure if it was my French or not!) and they arrived Chez Nous but on seeing my confused face, they quickly invited us over to their place (as I had expected!) We spent a couple of hours drinking vin de pamplemousse (grapefruit wine) and eating smoked salmon, and chatting away in a strange mixture of French and English.

Here’s a very wonky picture of their shop & house.

I took a plate of chocolate chip cookies, a bottle of wine & some chocolates for them, plus the handmade card I showed you last week; but we were bowled over by the generosity of their gift for us – two lovely cups, filled with Werthers Originals & chocolate plus a vintage serving dish! It is always a pleasure to spend time with them.

It has been decided that we are going to start playing cards with them (TBH I’m not a great fan of card games, but I didn’t have a lot of say in the matter!) So next Monday, they are coming to us to learn how to play Crib – about the only card game I’m willing to tolerate –

and then the fortnight after we are going there to learn how to play Tarot –which is nothing to do with telling fortunes, but a card game which looks exceedingly complicated!!

I’m not sure how easy it will be to describe how to play crib – and I think I may need to remind myself before we start! It’s been a great many years since I last played!

This entry was posted in friends'n'family, special times, Village life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Play Your Cards Right!

  1. Ariel says:

    I’ve played Tarocchi (the Italian version of Tarot) and it isn’t as complicated as you might expect. Cribbage was the one I struggled with! But enjoy – sounds like a lovely way to spend an evening.

Leave a Reply

