Public Service Broadcasting.

Yesterday afternoon Mr FD and I drove down to Clermont Ferrand. I had an appointment with the podiatrist about my painful feet – not that it was very helpful. He thinks that my painful feet are simply because I need to wear my orthotics/inner soles all the time rather than just when I’m outside. Or that possibly the pain is due to arthritis. So I am now wearing shoes, rather than slippers, in the house too, and we will see if there’s any improvement. I’m not convinced myself as I had been wearing them almost constantly since the pain started with no major improvement, but on verra. The feet aren’t painful all the time, and mostly it’s discomfort rather than pain, so I will persevere. If they are no better when I get back from the UK mid August I will go back and see him again.

I popped into ILS, the language school where I sometimes work, to say hello, and to admit to parking in the car park. I wanted to just remind them I existed and was looking for work too, although I’m not likely to get anything now until September, as I’m working from July 1st onwards in the UK.

Then I met Mr FD in the centre for a meal – I had an enormous prawn-and-avocado salad, while he had a burger. Plus a delcious banana-and-chocolate pancake, with vanilla ice cream. And then we went to the Co-operative de Mai (a concert venue) for a concert by Public Service Broadcasting.

Wikipedia tells us:

Public Service Broadcasting are a London-based pseudonymous musical duo consisting of J. Willgoose, Esq. on guitar, banjo, other stringed instruments, samplings and electronic instruments; and Wrigglesworth on drums, piano and electronic instruments.The band play instrumental music, with Willgoose noting that “singing is never going to work. I’m not going to be happy with it, I’m not going to be comfortable playing it to other people.”The band have toured internationally.

They take samples from old public information films, archive footage and propaganda material, attempting (with tongue firmly in cheek) to ‘teach the lessons of the past through the music of the future’.At first, the band consisted solely of Willgoose. He made his public debut at The Selkirk pub in Tooting, London in late 2009. Shortly afterwards he issued EP One. Teaming up with Wrigglesworth on drums the band played its first festival in September 2010 and work began on a second EP, The War Room, which was released in May 2012. Since then, the band has released two albums, Inform-Educate-Entertain (2013); a second one, The Race for Space, was released on 23 February 2015. While writing The War Room the band formed a close relationship with the British Film Institute, using their material during live-shows.

For live shows the pair are augmented by visuals expert Mr. B and bass guitarist and flugelhorn player JF Abraham, who also features on The Race For Space.

I have linked to one of their videos before, but here’s another:

It was a really enjoyable concert, but I have to say the support band was a little bizarre. It was a local duo, playing electronic music, but the singer was really quite wierd. What made me smile though was that they obviously had brought along their family and friends to watch, as a little granny with her walking sticks was ushered into the hall for their set, and was hastily ushered out again afterwards, looking slightly shell-shocked!

We met a girl there who was clearly some kind of super fan, as she admitted that she had been following PSB around Europe on this tour and others before this. She had seen all the shows, and was recognised and acknowledged by the musicians and their crew. I couldn’t help wondering (a) if she had a job and if she did how did she get the time off to follow a band around Europe (b) if she had a job and if she didn’t how did she get the money to follow a band around Europe?! Still, each to their own!

A good evening out!

 

 

This entry was posted in Lovely Things, out and about and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Public Service Broadcasting.

  1. Sorry to hear about your feet. I have a similar problem, self diagnosed as metatarsalgia, and my podologue (20 minutes away, but visits our local health centre on Thursday mornings – that’s only 3km from us) fitted me with a pair of orthopaedic semelles that I can’t wear with slippers or sandals. In fact, they only work really well with my hiking boots.

    • fatdormouse says:

      I’ve since discovered I can’t fit my semelles in my slippers – & have never worn them with any sandals except a pair of fairly “closed in” walking sandals. I’m wearing my flowery plimsolls at the moment – not too heavy! – and things aren’t too bad.

  2. angalmond says:

    Every time you mention Clermont Ferrand, I am transported back almost 50 yrs to French Lessons at Grammar School – there was a HUGE map of France on the wall, and by each city there was an icon representing the Major Interest of that place. CF had a large car tyre beside it. I remember commenting on this and our teacher said ‘ they just make tyres there’ Is this true? do they use the leftover rubber to make orthotics? I do hope your feet become more comfortable soon xx

    • fatdormouse says:

      Yes, they definitely DO make tyres in Clermont Ferrand! Michelin is one of the biggest employers in the area, with 4 seperate sites in Clermont alone, with other sites in Roanne, Thiers, and Vichy (which are towns nearish-by) I don’t think the rubber is used for orthotics though!! A lot of our church members are Michelin employees, over from Greenville, USA, & we are grateful to Michelin for some financial support, as Christ Church is considered to be part of the support network for newly expatriated employees.

  3. HelenSaying says:

    I too share the foot problem. x-ray a couple of weeks ago revealed arthritis. I expect to wait around 6 months in the queue for an appointment to review my orthotics. Meanwhile, some days just a dull ache, and others can be extreme. Enjoy your trip back to England – is it MK you are coming to?

    • fatdormouse says:

      I fear it may be arthritis, Helen. Sigh. Usually I would be popping in to MK but it looks unlikely that I’ll have the time this year. I’ll be teaching over near Newbury, however.

  4. Michelle says:

    I finally found a brand of shoes (Keen) that keep my feet from hurting, and have switched nearly all my shoes to those. And yes, I have a pair of slip-on Keens that are my designated “house shoes;” my feet would kill me if I didn’t wear them all the time!

    • fatdormouse says:

      Most of my shoes are comfortable with the inner soles in them, so thankfully I don’t have that problem too…Mind you, I certainly don’t have any dainty, “pretty” shoes. They’re all clodhoppers (except for my flowery plimsolls)

Leave a Reply

