Birds writing music.

I’m not a musician, nor a composer. I can read music well eough to help me sing unknown hymn tunes, although I couldn’t sight read them. This has never bothered me much. The one time I would like to be able to write music is when I see a sight like this:

source

and Mr FD and I joke “The birds are writing music again!” I would love to be able to transcribe what I see into music.

Well, somebody has! In fact they did it in 2009, but it’s only just come to my attention!

Jarbas Agnelli from Brazil saw a photo of birds on telephone wires in a newspaper and it struck him how they looked like musical notes.”I cut out the photo and decided to make a song, using the exact location of the birds as notes,”he said. “I knew it wasn’t the most original idea in the universe. I was just curious to hear what melody the birds were creating.”

He arranged his score using a xylophone, bassoon, oboe and clarinet. However, he was reluctant to take credit for the beautiful piece. “The pleasing melody is not my invention. It was the birds’ idea,” he said. “The notes are the exact position of the birds (in between the lines). The rhythm is a interpretation of their position, since there are no bar lines.”

I think it’s a beautiful, delicate little piece and I think it’s wonderful that someone has had the talent and vision to do this. Of course, it is purely random where the birds were perched, but it took the skill of Agnelli to translate it into music.

I wonder what he’d make of this!

This entry was posted in Just a Thought and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Birds writing music.

  1. Gosh this is brilliant! What a fantastic thing to do and yes I wonder what the last picture would sound like xx

  2. Ariel says:

    That is absolutely amazing. And delightful.

  3. Kezzie says:

    My husband showed me this last week! Luckily there were 5 wires to match the stave!
    Ha, that other photo would sound a MESS!!!x

Leave a Reply

