Procrastination

I am terrible at doing things I don’t want to do. I generally work better if the deadline for doing things is tomorrow…but I also find myself worrying about it beforehand!!

I work for myself (“auto entrepreneur” in French) and generally the companies/individuals I work for are great at paying me on time. There is a law that one should be paid 30 days after the receipt of the bill, and I’ve had very few problems. A couple of individuals are late payers, and one person I used to teach stored up the bills for 3 or 4 months and then paid me. But it was okay as I knew she was dependant on various payments from the state, and she was a friend. I knew Where She Lived!  Otherwise everything is fine…

…EXCEPT…

One company, EAL Formation, has always been very laissez faire with their payment of my bills – you never know when the money will arrive. But I now have not been paid by them since September and (with penalties for late payment of bills) they owe me just under 1,300€ (£938/1,371 US$) I have written two letters demanding payment, and sent bills every month. I also have replied to their requests for my availibilities to teach for them with terse little messages saying “As I have not been paid for 6 months I do not wish to work for the company”

BUT I have been lying awake at night worrying about what I should do…is all my paperwork okay…do I have contracts with them… Maybe it’s my fault…

I finally got all the paperwork together, bills printed out, letters + dates of receipt (I sent them recorded delivery), contracts, paperwork. Now all I need to do (put off until tomorrow…) is finding a debt recovery agency. Something else to worry about!

This entry was posted in news, Village life, Work life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Procrastination

  1. Magsmcc says:

    Oh goodness x I was about to reply to the title with a blithe comment about reading blogs instead of making a strawberry practise for Friday’s piano exam. I am blithe no longer. Very very very good luck with all that. Bon courage et dors mieux!

  2. Kezzie says:

    Ahrgh, I hate paperwork! Yucks!x

  3. Pingback: One thing less to worry about! | View from the Teapot

Leave a Reply

