40Acts 2015: Act N°26: Bearhug (Do I have to?!)

Sometimes words just won’t do, and for those moments the hug was invented. It’s the most effective and simple way to say a truck load of things: “hello”, “I appreciate you”, “you’re loved”, “feel better”, or just “you’re comfy” to name a few. Say whatever you need to say with arms wide open today.

I’m not seeing anyone today: Send somebody a virtual hug. Let them know you are thinking of them. Put lots of XOXOs on the end just to make sure they 100 per cent get the message!

I’m not a huggy person: That’s cool. Instead of hugging here, there and everywhere, we challenge you to give out just one, very deliberate, bear hug to someone who will especially appreciate it.

I love a cuddle: What are you waiting for? You need no excuse: hug everyone – no exceptions. If you’re feeling particularly wild, you could even create a ‘Free hugs’ sign and wear it around town for the day.

Today’s Act is one that makes my skin crawl, I’m afraid – hugging people. Now, I don’t mind hugging people I know don’t mind being hugged. When I’m hugging them for a reason. But generally…Just hugging people? No, no, and thrice no.

And yet…and yet.. I understand that touch can be a very powerful healer in many ways. The meditation that went with today’s Action mentions this: She said to herself, ‘If I only touch his cloak, I will be healed.’ Jesus turned and saw her. ‘Take heart, daughter,’ he said, ‘your faith has healed you.’ And the woman was healed at that moment.

I’m kind of relieved that I didn’t go anywhere today: I had a phone lesson to give and I had next Sunday’s sermon to wrestle with – thank goodness I’ve managed to get that into some semblance of coherency. For a while it was touch-and-go! So being confined to barracks, as it were, I didn’t need to hug anyone, as I didn’t meet anyone! Phew.

But that doesn’t let me off the hook completely. I could still manage the “green” action…and I know just the person. My friend Cathy is always sending me jaunty little Facebook messages (most of which I delete without looking at!). Recently she had a nasty scare when, due to a gas leak in her new flat she could have (as she put it) woken up dead. She probably needs a hug, albeit a virtual one. So I shall send her this:

lolcatsdotcom8k545f0e8hrzfhl1

And I’ll give Mr FD a big DormouseHug when he gets home from work. It’s not really in the 40 Acts spirit, but I’m afraid it’s as good as it gets.

This entry was posted in 40Acts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 40Acts 2015: Act N°26: Bearhug (Do I have to?!)

  1. HelenSaying says:

    HI there….I haven’t hugged anyone today either. It has to be appropriate! I didn’t do too well with the chocolate challenge yesterday either. It got rejected! But let’s keep going and catch the spirit of it where we can. 🙂

  2. MrsGlade says:

    Aww! I am a hugger to those related to me and if it’s appropriate. But no I don’t think I could hug a stranger but I think I did send a virtual one in an email to a stranger! Or as I prefer to think of it, a friend I have not met yet ha! X

Leave a Reply

