A Pause in Lent N°2

A Pause in Lent Floss

I’m cheating again – somehow Life gets in the way and I can’t think of anything profound (or even profane!) to say in these Pauses. However, today, after Communion, I found myself repeating the words of the prayer that we used to use in the Anglican church, but which is not in favour in the Episcopalian Church I attend at the moment. It is, in my opinion, a beautiful prayer that sums up what the Eucharist is about:

Father of all, we give you thanks and praise, that when we were still far off you met us in your Son and brought us home.

Dying and living, he declared your love, gave us grace, and opened the gate of glory.

May we who share Christ’s body live his risen life;

we who drink his cup bring life to others;

we whom the Spirit lights give light to the world.

Keep us firm in the hope you have set before us, so we and all your children shall be free, and the whole earth live to praise your name;

through Christ our Lord. Amen.

I really love this prayer – and find it even more powerful if I say the first line in the first person singular: You met me in your Son and brought me home. Home: into the bosom of my Father, home where I am accepted as I am, but challenged to be someone better. It is a beautiful summary: we are called on to live Christ’s life, and to bring his light and life to others, but we can only do it in the strength and the hope that God has given us.

“The Prodigal Son Returns” by Soichi Watanabe

This entry was posted in Pause in Lent/Advent and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Pause in Lent N°2

  1. angalmond says:

    I think this is a super post- the prayer IS very powerful if you say it in the first person. And I love the picture too!

  2. Kezzie says:

    Yes,I love that prayer too- we use it at church and I love the fact that he comes when we are far off.x

  3. Pom Pom says:

    Thank you for sharing such a special prayer, Mouse.

  4. nmccarroll2014 says:

    Love that image by Watanbe and may steal it. PS: still making your squash soup!

  5. kayak trip says:

    My spouse and I stumbled over here coming from a different website
    and thought I may as well check things out.
    I like what I see so now i am following you. Look forward to checking out your web page yet
    again.

Leave a Reply

