Grow Your Blog 2015

Hello everybody! Thank you for visiting – and thank to Vicki who, as we know, set up this lovely event.

MOUSE-LAPTOP - WIN_20150102_201257

This is my lovely cat, George. There are more cats on the other blog!

This is my other blog (Or, maybe, this is my other blog!) Over at Fat Dormouse I tend to blog about food. And cats. This is slightly more eclectic – a bit about my life in France, about my crafts, about my preaching, and about Stuff.

If you’ve come from Fat Dormouse, you’ll have already read about me. And on this blog the tab at the top “So throw off the bowlines” tells about how we ended up in this corner of France. But, suffice to say, I’m a 50-mumble year old TEFL teacher, working in various places teaching English to both children and adults. I am lucky enough to be able to say I love my job!

I enjoy crafting – I make some cards…

IMG_1794    IMG_1754IMG_1389  IMG_1396_1   IMG_1802

The last card is a card I made for a small charity called Spanish Stray Cats – if you are a cat lover, I urge you to go and “like” their Facebook page, and maybe even donate to help them with their efforts to save, protect and heal the numerous stray cats that get dumped on their doorstep every week. I knit very wobbly blankets for them – even though they are in Spain, the winters are still cold and damp – and I was thrilled to find out that one cat was so attached to the wobbly blanket of mine that it had to go with him when he went to his new Forever home.

 

I don’t make quite so many cards now, as I have discovered the pleasures of Zentangle Inspired Art. I can happily while away an afternoon, working on a piece – I sell them to raise money for church, or just to give away. Here are some examples:

IMG_1812This one I created for Spanish Stray Cats. If you leave a comment here to say you have “liked” their page (I trust you!) I will put your name into a draw to win a copy of this ZIA piece. Here are some other examples of my ZIA – if you click on them you can see them in a bit more detail.

15110900022_64476ecc67_z

IMG_1831

IMG_1908  IMG_1906

IMG_1841

If you leave a comment here, one of you will win an original ZIA piece on a subject of your choice – I’ve created pieces on angels, dragons (see above), dolphins, Eiffel Towers, cats, unicorns, music…lots. In your comment tell me what you would like me to create for you, and I will draw one name at random on February 14th. Make sure I can contact you.

I love blogging and taking part in swaps, and blog hops, and parties like this as it gives me the opportunity to link with people from all over the world. I really look forward to visiting all your blogs over the next few weeks and finding out about you. Thank you for visiting, and if you haven’t been there, I hope you will go and visit my other blog, Fat Dormouse Getting Thinner

Enjoy yourself, visiting lots of blogs all over the world – and I hope you might come back to my corner of France someday soon!

 

This entry was posted in Blogging friends, Creating and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Grow Your Blog 2015

  1. *Wisher* says:

    Bonjour! Welcome to Grow Your Blog party… I love your card making and zentangle making. You are really talented. Hope you’ll made some new friends and have new followers in the weeks to come. Big Hugs from Singapore

  2. Karen in Breezy Point says:

    I have a friend that does Zentangle, but I’ve never tried it out. Your designs are amazing–I would love to see a moose design–I live on Moose Bay in Minnesota.

  3. kareninkenai says:

    OMGosh, love your Zentangle… I am a total beginner at that medium. I am stopping by as Vicki’s rep to make sure your blog is up and running – and I am so glad it is. Will follow – and sending hugs. – Alaska Blue Moose (www.karendorcas.com)

  4. Emily C says:

    Hello from Pennsylvania. I would love a dragon.

  5. Pamela says:

    I enjoyed reading your posts – bless you for the work you do for stray cats. Love the Fat Dormouse site – I’m following.

  6. Christine says:

    Those zentangles are fabulous! I’d like to see a penguin one 🙂

  7. Sue says:

    Hi. i used to read your blogs a few years ago, I had piggies heaven blog.
    Do you have a facebook page? If so are you part of the group Ladies in France together or the crafting group in france?

  8. bidgee says:

    I have popped over from your Fat Doormouse blog – I would become a follower but don’t really know how to do that here – not to worry I can come across again from your FD blog!!

  9. Dixie says:

    I love the musical instruments. Stunning!
    I’m on the blog hop and having fun!
    Great blog!

  10. You have a wonderful blog. I was truly impressed with your handmade cards. They are lovely. I fell in love with your zentangles, but they nearly put my hand to sleep just looking at them. Can’t do them because my hand stiffens up and I can’t even straighten the fingers once that happens. I can see that doesn’t affect you, at least.

    I really enjoyed visiting your blog. It was a genuine breath of fresh air.
    http://alteredbooklover.blogspot.com/2015/01/grow-your-blog-blog-hop-event.html.

  11. buttercup2000 says:

    Your cards are great and it’s nice to discover your blog. Visiting from Grow Your Blog.

  12. Heather says:

    Visiting via GYB. I’ve heard of Zentangle, but don’t really know what it is. The designs you create are beautiful and I’m a quilter, so I’d love to see something quilt inspired!

  13. bekki says:

    Your zentangles are really good. one based around the ocean would be good to see.

  14. Pingback: Disgusted from St Just… | View from the Teapot

  15. karin says:

    I love your zentangles and enjoyed reading your posts! Thanks for visiting my blog!

  16. alexis says:

    I’d love a zentangle sheep. I love this style!

  17. Judy Cooper says:

    Visiting, via GYB, from St. John’s, NL Canada. Love the zentangles!

  18. Carrie says:

    Wow, you are so talented. Those illustrations are beautiful. I really like the name of the blog too…so cute. I’m visiting from the grow your blog party, it’s good to “meet” you!

  19. buntyw says:

    Visiting from the UK!
    Your designs are amazing – I would love a hare!

  20. MA says:

    Such fun to see your zentangles (esp. the wonderful owl!). I’ve dabbled with it but haven’t created anything that’s worth seeing the light of day. So nice to meet you!

  21. Hi, I just started doing zentangle .I like to hear about france, hope to go there someday.
    Want to see the lavender fields I will follow and be back
    Laura

  22. Carole says:

    Wow, I am so impressed with your ZIA! Wonderful! Your corner of France is full of talent.

  23. Carol says:

    Greetings! Enjoyed your card designs and the zentangles. What about a flower zentangle?

  24. Veronica Roth says:

    Hi there, I couldn’t find your name, so I’ll say hello Miss artist in France. Love your designs. I tend to do some of that too. How lovely that you live in rural France. I love rural France and tend to spend a lot of my time in Geneva, Switzerland, and drive into France around there. You know, Clusas, Yvoire, Thonon…etc. That’s my favourite part of France. Oh, wait, I’ll pop over to your other blog and say hello. I spend my time between Canada and England myself, and was born in and grew up in Prague, so love Europe to pieces. Come say hi if you have a chance. Off now to read some of your second blog…brave girl. I have enough trouble keeping one! X

  25. Heather says:

    Hello from NYC! What a beautiful area you live in. Your cards are great. I love the owl yet should I win your giveaway I’d love a drawing of a cat! 🙂 Thanks for your generosity!

Leave a Reply

