About me

Trish, over at Marshalling points completed a list of questions about herself…as I am struggling to think of something to post about tonight, I thought I would borrow the questions to tell you a tad more about myself, FatDormouse. So here goes:

Four names people call me other than my real name.

Dormouse, Mouse, Ali (a shortening of my name that I hate!) That’s all…but my dad used to call me Boo, or Boo-Boo Bear. Just thinking about it still brings a tear to my eye.

Four jobs I’ve had other than my current one.

Primary school teacher, Asset Management assistant, classroom English teacher in a French collège. Again, only three jobs, but I was a teacher in several schools. Does that count?

Four films I’ve watched more than once.

The Princess Bride, Truly Madly,Deeply; The Shawshank Redemption; Love Actually

Four books I’d recommend.

This is tricky; I think I more often recommend authors rather than books….but The Last Runaway by  Tracy Chevalier; Spanish Steps by Tim Moore; Elizabeth George’s Inspector Lynley books, Rough Music by Patrick Gale

Four places I’ve lived.

Aintree, near Liverpool; Winchester; Milton Keynes; St Just en Chevalet

Four places I’ve been.

How to choose?! Toronto; Begur, in Spain; Madeira; Lisbon

Four places I wouldn’t mind being right now.

Bed (!); at my mum’s; in a luxury hotel; at my dear friends’ home (Gary & Carlo)

Four things I won’t eat.

Liver; kidneys (except in very small doses in steak-and-kidney pie); heart; brains. Offal really.

Four of my favourite foods.

Duck, chocolate, cheese (but not very strong flavoured ones.My palette is becoming very fussy!), cake of most description. Oh and crisps. I could eat crisps till the cows come home! I know that’s five,but never mind.

Four TV programmes I watch.

Coronation Street; Lewis ; Waterloo Road (though I do think it’s gone downhill) Doctor Who

Four things I’m looking forward to in the next year.

Working back at the summer school – I know I’ve got Kids & I know and like the people I’m working with; celebrating 30 years of marriage; spending time with my friend Cathy when she comes over; taking part in 40 Acts

Four things I’m always saying.

I have recently been told (and now I know I am really selfconcious about it!) that in lessons I  often say “Good…but no” when students try hard with an answer that isn’t quite right; “Buggery-poo” when things don’t go my way. “Who’s a lovely cat, then?” (to any one of four!) And I can’t think of a fourth – although Mr FD has assured me that he will think of something soon!!!

This entry was posted in Just a Thought and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to About me

  1. I like this! I’m going to borrow it for a future post myself.

Leave a Reply

