For Mr FD

I’ve directed so many people to this poem, I thought I should share it with everyone (not that there’s many!) who read this blog. I sometimes bemoan the fact that Mr FD isn’t the world’s most romantic man, but I need to remind myself that there are different kinds of romance:

ATLAS

There is a kind of love called maintenance,
Which stores the WD40 and knows when to use it;

Which checks the insurance, and doesn’t forget
The milkman; which remembers to plant bulbs;

Which answers letters; which knows the way
The money goes, which deals with dentists

And Road Fund Tax and meeting trains,
And postcards to the lonely; which upholds

The permanently rickety elaborate
Structures of living; which is Atlas.

And maintenance is the sensible side of love,
Which knows what time and weather are doing
To my brickwork; insulates my faulty wiring;
Laughs at my dryrotten jokes; remembers
My need for gloss and grouting; which keeps
My suspect edifice upright in the air,
As Atlas did the sky.

by U.A. Fanthorpe

This entry was posted in friends'n'family and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to For Mr FD

  1. Thank you, I love it and have shared on Facebook.

  2. What a great poem. I can relate!

Leave a Reply

