How sporty am I?!

The answer to that is: not at all! I’m basically lazy, and avoid exercise like the plague. That’s why one of my NY resolutions is to “do more exercise” – I’m going to try to do a 30 minute walk two or three times a week, though when the weather is as gloomy as it is today the thought isn’t very appealing!

I was reminded of my sporting prowess at school by a post on Magnon’s Meanderingswhen Cro wrote about rugby and rowing. My school was all-girls, so it was hockey and netball in the winter, tennis in the summer. My friend Tracy and I were terrible at hockey. If forced, we would play goalkeeper and goal defence, but that meant we’d stand in the goalmouth chatting, until anguished cries of “TRACY! ALISON!!” would alert us to the stampeding masses of the opposing team heading towards us. We’d let the ball into the net…be chastised (“Oh TRA-see! Oh AL-i-son!”)…and go back to our conversation. In the end it got to a point where we’d just be allowed to take Miss Crawford’s dog for a walk around the games field. EEveryone was satisfied with that solution: the rest of the year group who enjoyed playing, Miss Crawford who got us out of the way, the dog who got a walk, and us, who got out of hockey!

When summer came around we played tennis. There weren’t enough courts in the school grounds, so we would be allowed to go to the local park to play. Of course Tracy & I wanted to avoid any sporting effort, and we worked out that, at the height of the swing of the swings we could see any teacher approaching in time to hop off, to hare to the court and be playing tennis when the teacher arrived. However, our cunning did not stretch to realising that for every up of the swing, there would be a down (when you can’t see the approaching menace of a games teacher) and we were caught, red handed, merrily swinging in the playground instead of playing tennis!

I have tried to enjoy sport – skiing was not a success. Mr FD found he loved it (after I won a holiday) but I was terrible! We went on several holidays, but I never learned to love the sport; I was afraid of the speed necessary to turn successfully, and I could not get up from a fallen position, thanks to poor upper body strength. I tried to enjoy cycling – witness my 1,000€ for 1,000km challenge. I cycled the required 1K km and raised the money, but haven’t been on the bike since!! But dancing…well, I like that! Ballroom dancing wasn’t so good, as I couldn’t find myself a regular partner, but I’m hoping that the Line Dancing will be here for keeps.

 

I do like walking – a few years ago I regularly went for 5 or 6 km walks between, before or after lessons. I had a map of the hills around Clermont Ferrand, and i would enjoy a stroll. Unfortunately my feet are not in the best of health, with tendonitis, fallen arches and other associated problems, so I can’t get out for so many walks. The weather’s grim too, so I am less inclined than before to go out. STILL – I will be going out as soon as I’ve posted this.

What about you, dear readers: are you sporty? What do you enjoy?

PS: I’m quite thrilled to be typing this up on my new tablet/hybrid. I can blog from the warmth of the living room, so hopefully I’ll be able to keep up with my other NY resolution to blog more (either here or at Fat Dormouse)I hope you will join me.

 

 

This entry was posted in Just a Thought and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to How sporty am I?!

  1. I would probably be called sporty to the extreme. About the only sport I wasn’t crazy about was softball. Everything else I tried I liked or loved, and since I’m naturally athletic, I’ve been pretty good at all of them. It’s hard to be getting older and finding it harder to do some of them now when I get the chance….

  2. Oh,I am so with you on this. I hated hockey and netball with a passion. Tennis was better as it took place in warmer weather. In the sixth form we were able to do fencing. Much better, as it was indoors. I love dancing but have never found a partner (cue sad music). Dancing in church with a group was wonderful in any ways. Like you I now walk for exercise. It’s 2 miles around the local golf course but I’m a fair weather exerciser, I don’t go out if it’s wet, or foggy like today.

  3. fatdormouse says:

    Fencing?! That would have been fab! As for partner-less dancing – well, that was why I took up Line Dancing. You don’t need a partner for that! Nice to hear from you Trish. Thank you for your comments.

  4. jan2132 says:

    Just found you again after Wiblog. My High School had (still has) eight tennis courts. These are overlooked by the main staffroom. When I was in my third year of high school, the several class on sport one afternoon decided continuous tennis was much more satisfying than proper matches. Four people on court like doubles and the rest are lined up ll around the four. Server gets one serve, moves to being the other person at that end One moves to being a receiver and a new person comes on to replace one who went off. And so on. We were having tremendous fun till supervising staff teacher happened to look out of window. We were busted in a big way. I still remember this episode with laughter, very, very many years down the track.

Leave a Reply

