40 Acts: 20: Always Talk to strangers & 21: Pray

From yesterday’s daily prompt:

Today your challenge is to turn an old adage on its head. Don’t ignore strangers, make a point of talking to them. Just a simple smile, a comment about the weather and a ‘how are you doing today?’ can open up a really interesting conversation. To be honest, I was busy working yesterday, so I didn’t pick up the reminder until I was home…I suppose I talked to strangers when I started my new course of lessons with two new students, but that’s all! I think this is another challenge to bear in mind for the future.

 

From today’s daily prompt:

Prayer is generous because when we speak to God on another person’s behalf, he hears us.
It’s also generous because when you offer to pray for someone, it instantly shows them that you care about their well-being and their circumstances.

Offer to pray for someone today – either a friend or, if you’re feeling brave, a stranger. It doesn’t need to be elaborate: a simple, thoughtful prayer is a powerful thing

So, I posted on the group page of “Ladies  In France Together”, a FaceBook group I belong to:

Hi Ladies!
I’m taking part in something called 40Acts, which you can read about over here (http://www.40acts.org.uk/the-challenge/) The premise being that, instead of giving something up for Lent, participants take part in “doing something generous for Lent” – completing 40 “acts”. Today’s act is entitled “Pray” and we are invited to ask people if they would like us to pray for them, for people, for situations…
So, I am asking you, a group who is so supportive of others, if any of you would like me to pray for you, for those you know or love…
I can’t promise that your prayer will be answered in the way you expect, or hope for, but I do believe that somehow, and in some way, God will listen & answer our prayers…You can either send me a message privately, or leave a comment following this. I promise that I will pray for anyone who asks.

So far, three likes, but no requests….We’ll see what the day brings!

 

I’m not a great pray-er, and struggle with the concept of intercessionary prayer, but, in faith, I’m taking part in this Challenge for today.

This entry was posted in 40Acts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

